5th USJ Interscholastic Games – First weekend results

15 Feb. 2016- The 5th USJ Interscholastic Games first weekend came to an end. The participating teams had an amazing environment full of sportsmanship with a high level of competition.

40 schools were fighting for a place in the basketball tournament semifinals that is going to be held next Saturday. One of the biggest surprise of this tournament was the early knockout of Champville (last year title holder). Lycee Abdel Kader, Saint Joseph School, Sagesse High School and Sagesse Brasilia made it to the semis and will be fighting for one title next weekend.
In the women’s category, Notre Damme Orthodox defeated Amjad, Lycee Abdel Kader defeated Saint Joseph Kornet Chehwan, Zahrat El Ihsan defeated Saint Coeur Ain Najem and Antonine Baabda defeated Sagesse St. Maron. The winners made it to the group stage that will kick off on the 19th of February.

On the other hand, Lea ASSAF from Saint Famille Fanar secured the table tennis title by overcoming Yara STOUHY from Lycee Abdel Kader. Elias EL HAJJ from Mont La Salle secured the title of the men’s category and Karim HAIDAR from Lycee Abdel Kader secured second place.

The Women’s Volleyball League saw the qualification of Mariste Byblos, Sagesse Brasilia, CND Louaize and Saint Famille Fanar to the semifinals. Next weekend the identity of the winner will be revealed.

Now it is time to talk about the Futsal men tournament that saw the participation of 50 schools where Antonine Ghazir (title holder of the last 2 years) made it to the quarterfinals. Antonine Baabda, Antonine Ajaltoun, Centrale Jounieh, Saint Coeur Bikfaya, Antonine Rounieh, Soeurs de la Charite and Lycee Nahr Ibrahim also made it to the quarters. We are expecting great games in this championship next weekend! Can’t wait to them playing.

As for the women’s category, Antonine Ajaltoun and Saint Coeur Kfarhbab made it to the final.

Handball (men and women), badminton, swimming and cross country is expected to start next weekend. The titles and prices will be distributed on the 21st of February at 8:00 P.M.